I got an invitation for ZurHNG internship 8

In the last one year, I’ve learnt the foundations of programming. I had no idea what to do and who to go to but google became my best friend in the process. Now that I think about it, it is crazy how much can be learnt from the internet. Learning frontEnd web development has been all I wanted it to be, tough and fulfilling. I’ve learnt HTML, CSS, Javascript (Vanilla, node and React). It feels amazing, but getting an invitation to the Zuri/HNG internship a few days ago made me feel even better. According to the Zuri homepage, “HNG internship is a long running, large scale virtual internship for people learning code and design. It focuses on the post-training phase and creates a virtual work environment for participants”. It is an incredible learning opportunity and this year’s training is a 8-week intensive training. Although the internship doesn’t teach the basics of programming, zuri training on the other hand “is a virtual training programme designed to teach the basics and fundamentals of programming or design in a way that the trainee becomes familiar enough with the tools after a few months to continue learning on their own”. The training provides course content every week on Zuri training website. These includes live classes and tasks to enable a better understanding of the basics of programming and design. Enrolling for the training programme would improve the chances of getting through the weekly stages of the internship. Some of the materials I have used so far to learn include:

  1. W3 schools HTML tutorial
  2. W3 schools GIT tutorial
  3. FIGMA: trydesignlab.com/figma-101-course/introduct..
  4. Javascript and reactjs: developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/Tutori..
  5. HTML :youtube.com/watch?v=UB1O30fR-EE&feature..
  6. React js : reactjs.org

I intend to fully utilize this opportunity for the next 8 weeks to:

  1. Learn about teamwork and asking for help on the forums.
  2. Solve the time based demands of the programme.
  3. Help my peers and learn from them whenever I can.
  4. Improve my understanding of the building blocks of programming by solving real life projects.

    I hope to make it into the final stage.